Phoenix

My love….

I don’t know how to express what you mean to me.

Words fail.  They seem too inadequate….too easy…..too common.

When you came into my life I had given up on love

It always came with a price and the last one had left me broken

Empty

Done.

I have never been loved as honestly

As unselfishly

As completely

As you

When I am upset you wait, and listen and comfort.

When I am wrong you wait, and listen and understand.

When I snore, you smile because it means that I am sleeping deeply and you care about that.

When my children take over my time, our time, you understand and don’t judge.

You love me….all of me….no qualifications.

When I love – you love in return.

My heart was dead

My soul numb

You brought the flame

You stirred the ashes

And from my ruin

You coaxed

My Phoenix

 

 

 

Leave a comment